T minus 2 days until defense

Published April 23, 2012 by PinkEnergizerBunny

Today was just ridiculous. Can best be summed by: “a bad dress rehearsal makes for a good opening night performance.” The ONLY way to describe what happened this morning at my practice presentation. I am finding comfort in this quote, though I cannot google it toooo extensively or else I find disproof of this common saying…yikes.

I was just flustered and in Monday-days-pre-Defense mode. I think that once Thursday comes around, i will have some “performance” adrenaline circulating which will help me deliver a good talk. In fact, let’s say I am CONFIDENT in this fact. I have to be!

I ended up going home early to run some errands and then drank tea and read my study review binder. YAY ME!

Tomorrow is the last defense in the department before mine…gulp! It’s going to be somewhat of a wash day, but I am not going to let myself get tooo carried away. I will stop by for the party and mingle and then I am heading out to read some more material.  With all these defenses so close to one another, this is what I was worried about a few months back. But let’s stop worrying and SEIZE THE WEEK!!!

Review of today:

  1. start drying compound before practice presentation
  2. PRACTICE PRESENTATION- 10am
  3. Find classnotes for labmate…
  4. read review binder
  5. Hair appointment 3pm
  6. work on additional slides/spectral data addition
  7. refresh my memory of NMR and molecular modeling knowledge

I also:

  • found a few alternatives for my suit jacket (took way toooo long but a MUST)
  • emailed friends/family about thursday itinerary
  • booked a restaurant for the after-after party
  • made corrections to slides based on feedback

Excited and exhausted all at the same time!

Night -.-

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Plan for Tuesday, April 24th:

  1. Extraction of reaction
  2. Coffeee date!!!!!!!!! 😀
  3. defense-1pm
  4. Read review binder….
  5. after-party (no more than 1hr)
  6. buy champagne
  7. deliver parking pass to friend
  8. read through dissertation so I remember my explanations of things…

Leave a comment